Skip to content

And now, a book cover.

November 8, 2010

Alright everyone, it’s time for an illustration post. I recently had a class assignment that focused on using collage digitally – and we had to make a book cover. Now, I’ve done a little collage in the past (check out the portfolio above, DO IT), and I’ve always loved the process. Books are also pretty cool, so this was a damn fun assignment.

I chose to do a cover for Kurt Vonnegut’s A Man Without a Country – I love drawing him, I don’t know why. So, I bought a bunch of fabric, cut up a bunch of cardboard, burned my fingers, and made this:

It’s the first time I’ve ever set up anything that I would need to actually photograph (namely the pins and rope), and I had a lot of fun doing it. I’d like to mess around with collage more, because making my lil’ Vonnegut was the highlight of this thing.

But what do you guys think?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lena permalink
    November 12, 2010 11:51 am

    This makes me so happy, Sean! You should collage forever! The font is fantastic!
    The one thing that throws me off a little is the perfect, purple digital vignette… I think if you just slap a subtle grain texture on it than it’ll feel less digital and more collage-like. You know what I’m sayin’? Regardless, you did a really great job, man!

Leave a Reply

