Skip to content

Giving digital additive painting a shot:

November 22, 2010

Here’s my final for my Electronic Illustration class: a self-portrait to be painted using an ADDITIVE TECHNIQUE. As in, no airbrushin’ here, folks. Started with only black and white, used a little photo reference, set my brush to hard round with pen pressure on opacity, and went to town. The self-portrait had to represent a hobby or personality trait not shown in class, so I made absolutely certain everyone would know how big a music geek I am:

So, from left to right, that’s Thom Yorke (of Radiohead), me, Win Butler (of Arcade Fire), Kevin Barnes (of… Of Montreal), and Wayne Coyne (Flaming Lips). A few other people were going to be put up there, like James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem and Daniel Rossen of Department of Eagles/Grizzly Bear, but due to time constraints I just went with those four extra dudes.

And just for the record, I like a LOT of music, these guys were just the most recognizable (in terms of picking them out in a crowd) and the dudes I thought people would recognize the fastest.

As for the technique, I had a blast using it. I’m going to try using this little technique much more often, so keep an eye on this blog for more in the upcoming weeks. A friend of mine wants a Liz Taylor drawing, and she’d probably be a good candidate for this kind of rendering. WOOH.

Oh, and just cuz I like you guys so much, here’s a couple of those dudes above isolated and in sweet, sweet black and white:

Let me know what you think!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 12:13 am

    My god, Sean, this is fantastic! Brilliant! Gorgeous! You are an amazing digital painter. I love the colours, and the way you coloured it (unnecessary u’s for the win). You, looking so mellow with strong energetic colours behind you…MAN this is so fabulous! I am in shock and awe, and can’t stop looking at it.

  2. November 23, 2010 3:15 am

    Sean, I’m in love with this technique! You go, boy! Did you take Electronic Illustration with John Forester?

Leave a Reply

